Microsoft Has Officially Reduced It’s Xbox One Launch Territories


Earlier this morning we reported that Microsoft may miss several territories with it’s Xbox One launch. It’s not been confirmed. Originally the Xbox One was set to release in 21 countries in November. That number has now been cut by nearly 40%. The number of confirmed launched countries has shrunk to 13.

Microsoft’s official statement on the matter,

“While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches,” 


“This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country.”

This news comes directly from Xbox Wire. Here’s a list of the slated release territories to the newly confirmed 2014 one’s:

Confirmed launch countries

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • New Zealand

Countries that have been bumped to 2014

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

The countries that have been delayed until 2014 will be compensated with a free bundled game. The title is TBA. There’s no word on whether, or not, countries that have been delayed will be able to import a console without any region issues.

Follow Meh

Dylan Zellmer

Dylan splits time between games journalism, designing video games, and playing them. Outside of his deep involvement in the games industry, he enjoys It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Shameless, A Song of Ice and Fire, fitness, and family.
Follow Meh